Reviews

VALKYRIE’S VENGEANCE

4.5 stars from InD’Tale Magazine, 2015

Victoria Storm is at once a shape shifter, a Valkyrie and a High Priestess to the Goddess Freya.  Her family and pack have been betrayed by their closest allies, the Hunters. Her lover is dead, but instead of being able to mourn, Victoria is on the run with what remains of her family and her pack.  As the only Alpha female, she is tasked with keeping them alive.

The Goddess Freya has other plans for Victoria.  Someone is kidnapping and killing children and Freya puts Victoria on the job.  Now she must work with the man who is responsible for killing her parents in order to find and save the innocents from a fate that may be worse than death.

This book is a great time!  It combines all the best elements of the paranormal with a spine-chilling mystery.  Although short, it is a well-told story full of twists and turns.  The author has a light easy-going touch with a descriptive style that draws the reader into the action.

Although a little light on the shape-shifting aspect of the characters, the story explores other aspects of the supernatural, drawing inspiration from Viking mythology.  This use of mythology in a modern way opens up a plethora of new ideas for the genre.  “Valkyrie’s Vengeance” is a nice easy read, perfect for unwinding after work or on a Sunday afternoon.

Review by Gwenellen Tarbet

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

BATTLE CRY

4 stars from InD’Tale Magazine, 2015

Sawyer Barrett has revenge on the mind. The need to avenge his brother’s death is eating away at his soul. He blames Daniel’s death on the Alpha of the Storm Pack, Victoria Storm. Victoria loved Daniel, and while she mated with a wolf to preserve her pack, her heart remained with him – even though their relationship was not sanctioned by either pack or Hunters. However, the Barretts and Victoria must come together to fight the undead, rescue Daniel’s soul, and deal with the coming storm of destruction the Gods have wrought upon humanity. 

Norse mythology and humanity collide within this novel from Ms. Snark. Not the first in a series, it can stand alone, but understanding specific references would be easier if you’ve read the previous books. Specifically, the character of Victoria appears to be so complex that without information from the previous books the reader might feel cheated of useful knowledge. Nonetheless the depth of the plot and characters creates a story that intrigues and captures the reader in the mystical web of a great battle. The interspersed arrivals of Loki within the novel are a delightful bit of humor in an otherwise serious thriller. The imagery projected by the author is so vivid it paints itself in the mind, projecting a dramatic intensity as the story plays out. Start to finish it is truly worth the read! 

Review by Penelope Anne Bartotto

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

HUNGER MOON

4.5 stars from InD’Tale Magazine, 2015

FOLKLORE:  Victoria Storm is trying desperately to keep her pack of werewolves from becoming extinct. Not an easy task when she must fight hunters at every turn, especially when the ones she is fighting are the family of her deceased lover. Victoria is not only a werewolf, but a Shaman and Valkyrie, and at the bequest of the Goddess Freya finds herself in the Sierra Nevada Mountains, seeking a possible mate in order to save her pack.

Arik Koenig is an alpha – one without a pack. When Victoria seeks out Arik, will she be able to seduce the alpha into accepting her and her pack? Arik is an attorney with a dead wife, a son with a huge chip on his shoulder and more baggage than American Airlines!  Together with a decades old curse by an evil witch, the ghostly appearances of Arik’s wife, not to mention hunters, and all of this will keep them on their toes fighting tooth and nail to find the happiness and answers they deserve.

Wow! Valkyrie, Goddesses, werewolves, shaman, and throw in a ghoul. One wouldn’t think that all of these characters would mesh, but holy doodles…they do! One would be hard pressed not to find one’s emotions running amok in this intriguing story. Logan is an obnoxious, smart-mouthed character one loves to hate, but ends up loving in the end! Just a small warning, not only will laughter occur, one might need a tissue or two. Anticipation for book 2 is now the leading emotion of this reviewer. Write fast Ms. Snark!

Review by Tonya Smalley

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

THE MATING GAME

4.5 stars Top Pick from Night Owl Reviews, August 2015

Awesome! This story was so hot! I’m surprised that my ereader didn’t go up in flames. The Mating Game is a fun and exciting to read. I got caught up in the fascinating, truly original storyline, romance, drama, action, danger, and suspense. There was never a dull moment to be had. I eagerly hung on trying to find out what would happen next. The sexual tension and chemistry between Theresa Sanchez (werewolf, human-werewolf hybrid) and Zachary Hunter (full blooded werewolf) was explosive. The steamy scenes were hot. The story was great and characters’ dialogues was awesome. The story was well paced and the setting was realistic. I could imagine myself in Zachary Hunter’s arms or in battle for higher pack status.

What is the Alpha of the Iron Stone Pack, Adam Teller (werewolf) up to?

How long would you wait to win someone’s love? Would three years be too long? Zachary befriended Theresa and her daughter Isabelle. He’s patiently waited for her to make the first move because of her abusive ex-husband. He taught her to be strong and able to defend herself. I felt that Robert Blane was short changed in mating with Zachary and Theresa. You’ll just have to read the novel to find out what happens next, and the HEA.

I gave this book 4.5 stars! I finished Mating Game by Melissa Snark in one sitting. This book was over 300 pages and I zoomed through them. You’ll just have to read the novel to find out what happens next, and the HEA is different. I highly recommend this author. I would buy books from her in the future.

Reviewed by DebA

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

A CAT’S TALE

4.5 stars Top Pick from Night Owl Reviews, June 2015

A Cat’s Tale is fun and exciting to read. I was caught up in the fascinating, truly original storyline, drama, action, and suspense. There was never a dull moment to be had. I was eagerly hanging on trying to find out what would happen next. I liked the sexual tension, chemistry between Jared and Josephine. Jared was an Alpha in hiding pretending to be an omega werewolf. The steamy scenes were hot. The story was great, and characters’ dialogues were very good. The story was well paced, and the setting was realistic. I felt that I was in the cell with Jared and Josie. I felt that I was at Evangeline’s evening party with Jared.

I finished the story in one sitting. Josephine betrayed Jared twice. Can a werewolf and a werecat work together? I wondered if he would forgive her. I wanted to see how Jared Kohl, alpha werewolf, and Josephine “Josie” Young, Siamese werecat, survived their imprisonment.

Reviewed by DebA

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

BATTLE CRY

5 stars Top Pick from Night Owl Reviews, June 2015

I give 4.5 stars / Top Pick to Hunger Moon by Melissa Snark. This is an urban fantasy / paranormal romance and is for readers 18+ due to sexual content.

Valkyrie’s Vengeance (Loki’s Wolves Book 0) should be read first before reading Hunger’s Moon. The beginning of Hunger’s Moon (Loki’s Wolves Book 1) starts off a little after the ending of Valkyrie’s Vengeance. Reading the two books in series order gave me a deeper understanding of what drove the characters personalities, what happened in their pasts. I understood why the Storm Pack was running from the hunters, and leaving false trails in Hunger’s Moon.

Otherwise, this book was up to a very good start. I liked the elements of Norse mythology, werewolves, shaman, healer, priestess, vampires, witch, and hunters thrown in the modern story. The book held together, and characters’ dialogues made sense. I got caught up in the interesting, original storyline, drama, action, and suspense. The sexual tension between Victoria and Arik; Victoria and Logan had different densities between them. All the scenes unfolded at a good pace throughout the book, and the setting was realistic. I felt I could walk through the woods in Sierra Pines, and peer into Valhalla. I could not put the book down. I wanted to see how the Storm Pack survived, what conflicts arose. How was Victoria, 24 year old female werewolf alpha, going to save her pack?

I was not happy about the werewolf-hunter pact broken over misunderstanding, and miscommunication. The needless loss of lives from werewolves, hunters, and mates lost.

Melissa Snark is next on my reading list. I look forward to reading more of her books.

Thanks for reading my ARC review.

Reviewed by DebA

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

HUNGER MOON

4.5 stars Top Pick from Night Owl Reviews, June 2015

I give 4.5 stars / Top Pick to Hunger Moon by Melissa Snark. This is an urban fantasy / paranormal romance and is for readers 18+ due to sexual content.

Valkyrie’s Vengeance (Loki’s Wolves Book 0) should be read first before reading Hunger’s Moon. The beginning of Hunger’s Moon (Loki’s Wolves Book 1) starts off a little after the ending of Valkyrie’s Vengeance. Reading the two books in series order gave me a deeper understanding of what drove the characters personalities, what happened in their pasts. I understood why the Storm Pack was running from the hunters, and leaving false trails in Hunger’s Moon.

Otherwise, this book was up to a very good start. I liked the elements of Norse mythology, werewolves, shaman, healer, priestess, vampires, witch, and hunters thrown in the modern story. The book held together, and characters’ dialogues made sense. I got caught up in the interesting, original storyline, drama, action, and suspense. The sexual tension between Victoria and Arik; Victoria and Logan had different densities between them. All the scenes unfolded at a good pace throughout the book, and the setting was realistic. I felt I could walk through the woods in Sierra Pines, and peer into Valhalla. I could not put the book down. I wanted to see how the Storm Pack survived, what conflicts arose. How was Victoria, 24 year old female werewolf alpha, going to save her pack?

I was not happy about the werewolf-hunter pact broken over misunderstanding, and miscommunication. The needless loss of lives from werewolves, hunters, and mates lost.

Melissa Snark is next on my reading list. I look forward to reading more of her books.

Thanks for reading my ARC review.

Reviewed by DebA

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

BATTLE CRY

5 Stars from LONG AND SHORT REVIEWS, February 2, 2015

Voted Fantasy Book of the Month, February 2015

BoM February_BattleCry

Victoria Storm, an alpha she-wolf, has tried to build a new life for her pack, but events quickly transpire that threaten not only her small decimated pack, but indeed the entire mortal world. If that weren’t enough, the Norse Fates predict that she will destroy the world in her attempt to save her daughter, as yet unborn. Worse than that, she suddenly finds herself in conflict between her duties as Freya’s priestess and her responsibilities as Odin’s Valkyrie.

Victoria is a very strong protagonist with a good heart. She’s well aware of the fact that there are no males in her pack and both that fact and the size of the pack make them all very vulnerable. She has a connection to the Hunters, but at the moment the alliance between the Hunters and the wolves has been broken because the head of the hunters, Jake Barrett, holds the wolves responsible for the death of one of his sons.

As Victoria and Jake try to sort out the truth of the past raids and also fight a horde of vampires, the reality of the situation begins to reveal itself. This novel makes brilliant use of the Norse gods and Norse mythology. The fact that the gods are involved, particularly Loki, adds a real depth to this plot. Both Victoria and Jake know what is prophesied, but will that be more apt to happen if they act? Or if they don’t act? There are tough decisions to be made, but one thing is certain. If the Hunters and wolves can’t re-establish their treaty and learn to work together, everyone will be destroyed.

This is the second novel in the series, but it can stand alone. I have read Hunger Moon, the first novel, and I do recommend reading them in order, but there is plenty of backstory woven into this one, so that new readers will be able to enjoy Battle Cry in all its excitement. The characters are well drawn and the plot is filled with action. It ends at a reasonable stopping point, as the stage is set for the next in the series. I hope the saga continues soon.

Fantasy lovers are in for a real treat when they read Battle Cry.

Reviewed by: Cyclamen

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

HUNGER MOON

5 Stars from The Masquerade Crew, January 21, 2015:

Favorite Lines “Goddess, is this free will or fate?”
“Victoria, must you always ask the questions I don’t have the answers to?”
“I’m sorry. I guess contrary is in my nature.””Say ‘we’ again.”“At long last, she was no longer alone.
My lifemate.”“You rejected my apology. What’s the point to feeling bad if the other person doesn’t give a crap?”

“Seek out Arik and forgive him for whatever bad feelings persist toward him in your heart.”

“All had survived the harsh, hungry winter. The month of the hunger moon was past.”

Wow! That sums this book up, just WOW. I’ve always loved Norse Mythology and this book was spectacular!

Victoria is alpha of her pack, they have been through hell and back, there are only a few members left thanks to the Hunters. Victoria is doing her best with her struggling pack. Whe her Goddess Freya tells her to seek out her lifemate Arik she’s nervous but ready for a alpha male in her life. What she doesn’t know is Arik comes with a son and a witch who wants him not only dead but destroyed.

It’s an emotional whirlwind the left me wanting…. No NEEDING more.
I fell in love with Logan! I’m hoping there is more on him later in series.
This author writes in a way the lets you fall into the world she’s creating easily. The characters are amazing, you love them and hate them at the same time. Just an all around great writing style!

I’m looking forward to seeing what comes next and would recommend this to EVERYONE who likes fantasy/paranormal books.

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.

FIVE VALKYRIE FAIRIES

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

HUNGER MOON

4.5 Stars from Long and Short Reviews, September 4, 2013:

NEW-Reviewed-by-LASR-copy

Victoria Storm is both a Valkyrie, priestess to the Goddess Freya, and a werewolf, the alpha leader of a very small wolf pack. The pack had been attacked by hunters who killed her parents and most of the rest of the pack. Victoria has obligations to both her decimated pack and the Goddess which results in many complications. The Goddess tells Victoria to head to Sierra Pines, California, where she will meet a suitable alpha male to help her rebuild the pack. She knows she must do this on a number of levels, but she doesn’t find it at all easy because she is fiercely independent, not to mention stubborn.

Melissa Snark has written a wonderful fantasy novel which bridges the worlds of the Norse gods and modern day California. It also bridges the worlds of gods and werewolves, giving real depth to both. Snark makes the merging of these very different cultures not only work, but work in a most believable manner.

I like Victoria. She is a wonderfully conflicted heroine, feeling guilty over the deaths of her parents and a large part of the pack, feeling badly that she hasn’t been able to protect the remaining pack members as well as she’d like, but also determined to do whatever it takes to protect her pack and ensure its survival. She meets her match in Arik Koenig, a powerful, dominant male wolf. But she also realizes that he and his son, Logan, have a dark history. Some of that history is twenty years old, but some of it is very recent. Victoria needs to learn more about Arik and Logan before she can be sure it is a good idea to bring them into her pack.

The story is fast-paced and filled with action and suspense. There is a mystery to solve; things are not what they seem to be. It takes all of Victoria’s skills as both a werewolf and a Valkyrie to keep her pack safe.

This is a fantasy novel which is sure to capture the hearts of many readers. Well-developed characters and an intricate plot are just the start. The strongest aspect of this novel is, I believe, the merging of two very different worlds into a complete and exciting whole.

Reviewed by: Cyclamen

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

THE MATING GAME

4 Stars from Got Romance! Reviews, AUGUST 1, 2014:

got-romance-reviews-icon

Single mom Theresa works hard at the diner and struggles just to make ends meet and provide for her daughter Isabel. It doesn’t help that her ex-husband and Isabel’s father never seems to have money to pay child support. He has moved on and is too focused on his new girlfriend. This situation wouldn’t be too horrible if only Theresa were human. She’s not human, she’s a werewolf.

The pack thrives on hierarchy. In order to be someone of importance within the pack you need to be ranked high, close to the alpha. Unfortunately, due to her circumstances she is as far from the head of the pack as possible. So low in ranking that she believes no other werewolf would want her. Her best friend Zach is third in line. He should really find someone close to him in ranking but that would crush Theresa because she desires him for her own. She just refuses to do anything about it because she doesn’t want to negatively impact Zach’s status.

Zach and Theresa fight their attraction for each other, not realizing that they both feel the same way. It isn’t until the current Alpha announces his retirement that these two are forced to act on their feelings for each other or walk away forever.

This story really spoke to me. My heart ached for Theresa as she tried to do all she could as a mom for her daughter while being taunted by her higher pack members. When Theresa finally decides she’s had enough and starts pushing back and challenging some of the other women in the pack, I teared up and cheered her on. While she is fighting for her position in the pack, Theresa and Zach’s love story takes off. I loved how unsure they both are of the other’s feelings and the chemistry they have is quite flammable. This book doesn’t have a lot of explicit sex scenes, it just doesn’t need it. The twist at the end is a pleasant surprise. Leave it to Theresa to think outside of the box.

Reviewed by: Lexi

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

LEARNING TO FLY

4 Stars from Got Romance! Reviews, July 18, 2014:

got-romance-reviews-icon

Cassie is on the run from a serial killer who escaped from prison after kidnapping and torturing her several years ago. She runs straight to Kyle McCloud, who is supposed to be her new employer. He knows immediately that something dark haunts her and he’s determined to help her. Lucky for them both, Kyle’s twin brother Kieran is a former Army ranger and now owns a security firm. With the McCloud brothers working to keep her safe, she may get out of this alive.

I really enjoyed the motherly housekeeper, Shelly Arthur. She and her husband Henry, the groundskeeper, took care of Kyle and Kieran after their parents died tragically when the boys were only sixteen. Now, as grown men, their interaction with Shelly is teasing and loving while still respectful. She is outspoken and demanding as only a mother would be. I laughed out loud at her manipulation when presenting Kyle with forms to sign, putting him on a waiting list with an exclusive nanny agency, even though he has no current prospects for a wife and no plans for children in the near future. Yet, he still signs the papers.

The hawk rescue was an interesting part of the story. Early in the story, Kyle is called out to save an injured hawk. He nurses it back to health until it is ready to be set free to fly again. His actions with the hawk is symbolic of his relationship with Cassie. He is also helping to save her, while drawing her out of her shell and helping her to trust again so she is free from the past and ready to give love as well as accept it. As successful as he is with the hawks, it gives the reader hope that he is the right man for the job with Cassie as well.

“Learning to Fly” is very well written with a solid story line and like-able characters. There are a couple of times, it alludes to a woman in Kieran’s life, hopefully setting up the next installment.

Reviewed by: Marchelle

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
A CAT’S TALE
5 Stars from the Paranormal Romance Guild

Jared Kohl is the Alpha of his pack and is heading to Los Angeles when he stops for food and drink. Before he can place an order he is approached by a werecat named Josephine Young. Wearing a very short skirt with nothing under it she brazenly offers him sex. In spite of feeling that this is some sort of trap, Jared follows her. His suspicions of it being a trap prove real when he is drugged and wakes up in a cage.

Josephine is a Siamese cat who lived her life as a cat with an elderly woman who had no idea she was a shiftchanger. Only when the need for food arose did she change into her human form leaving the old lady believing the house was haunted. But freedom was not something she would know because she became a vampire’s blood donor. Evangeline has held Josephine for three years, and she was forced to bring her mistress a new pet. That pet turned out to be Jared.

Evangeline has no idea of how powerful Jared really is, and he has no trouble playing the role of a submissive wolf. The first thing he asks for is Josephine. Evangeline had every intention of killing Josephine, and Jared needed her, so she found herself in the cage with him. It takes a while before the two to begin to trust each other, but they will have to if they hope to escape.

The story is about love and trust. We watch as Josephine and Jared become more than just cellmates. This is a hot book with two very sexy characters. What happens to the cat and the wolf? If they escape is there any chance of a cat and wolf being mated? This was a fun book and a very easy read.

Reviewed by: Linda Tonis

Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
HUNGER MOON

4 Stars from the Paranormal Romance Guild

We meet Valkyrie Victoria Storm in the middle of a blood bath, and we did continue on from there. I must say Melissa Snark has all the makings of an awesome story teller.

Hunger Moon, a Loki Wolf novel has a bit of a hard beginning, as many first in a series books. So many new people to learn about, and in the middle of a storyline, but it didn’t take me too long to be captivated.

The over weighting responsibilities for our heroine seems insurmountable. As Alpha of her pack, since the loss of her Mother and Father, Victoria’s pack is being torn apart almost to extinction by the Hunters. As a Valkyrie, Victory walks on both sides; in the mortal plane and the ‘other’. Her Goddess here is Freya, Victoria’s muse. She dictates to Victoria her wants. Victoria has no other option but to follow.

She is sent to a small town near Lake Tahoe, high in the secluded Sierra Nevada Mountains to seek a place for her pack of six by The Goddess Freya and to meet Arik Koenig. So you think this is gonna be a romantic love story with an HEA? Our author now opens both guns, and takes us on a wild ride of danger, murder, ghosts, intrique and relationships.

Arik a lawyer in this small town is the tall handsome, sexy Alpha wolf male, with a deceased wife, a grown wolf son and many secrets. He is enchanted by Victoria, her strength and her looks and wants nothing more than to be her mate. The courting begins, but the relationship between Logan his son and Victoria is sharp, snarly and wonderful piece of writing. They hate each other on site, but me thinks they protest too much. Through put the book they wind up helping each other for Arik.

The focus on this story was Victoria, finding herself and protecting her pack being the largest storyline. The pack that was left is a mated pair that are her Betas, and a momma and her three cubs. Their hardship was difficult to see Victoria feeling like a failure. Meeting Arik and the thought of having a mate was two fold for Victoria. Being the Alpha herself and feeling she would be giving up part of herself never wanting to be submissive.

Logan just four years younger was a breath of fresh air. He kept me on my toes, with his quick wit, his great humor and his snarky remarks. They get on each others nerves all the time, biting at each other every time they meet. The author has built a story for Logan that makes our journey with him very painful. Ms Snark takes us on twists and turns of emotion, pain and until the final secrets unfold and all are finally out on the table. When all is said and done we have many significant losses, much blood shed and hear break. Hunger Moon kept up a great pace and had my emotions in turmoil many times.

The ending was not what I expected and although I applaud the author for this surprise solution, I did feel a bit unsettled. I can only hope the next story, Battle Cry, comes out soon.

Review By Gloria Lakritz

Sr Reviewer and Review Chair for the Paranormal Romance Guild

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
THE CHILD THIEF

4.0 on the Masq Scale by Walkie on The Masquerade Crew, July 4, 2013:

A pack of werewolves is hunted by hunters hell-bent on vengeance. In Albuquerque, a ghost begs Victoria Storm, their alpha, to rescue her son who has been kidnapped by a monster who eats children. Reluctantly, Victoria agrees, and while also trying to save one of her own, finds herself caught in an uneasy alliance with the very hunters who want her dead.

With Victoria, Melissa Snark created a conflicted heroin and an alpha that no one intent to challenge because of her strength of character, her willingness to serve justice, and her devotion to her pack.

Readers might find this captivating short story too short and wish to know more about Victoria and the Storm pack, and the thread of Norse mythology the author has woven with this tale. Victoria Storm is worthy of an in-depth, full-length novel. Fortunately, there is a 348-page sequel, ‘Hunger Moon‘.

This short story is full of promises and full of characters worth developing to their full potential. A new pack is in town – or on the run – and they are worth watching out for.

Review Disclaimer: Book was provided free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
HUNGER MOON

Guest Review by Lisa Lester on Fight For Your Write, June 30, 2013:

Werewolf Victoria Storm knows all about duty.  Alpha to a dwindling pack decimated by war with the Barrett family, and with new pups on the way, she must find safe harbor away from the pursuing human hunters that have sworn to wipe her pack from the face of the Earth. After praying to her goddess Freya for guidance, Victoria is led to Sierra Pines, California to find an Alpha to protect and shelter her pack.  Arik Koenig, a powerful alpha male with a murky past, promises to be the protector her pack so desperately needs, and agrees to be Victoria’s mate.  Yet nothing is ever easy, and Victoria soon finds that the wickedly handsome Arik comes with his own baggage; his murdered wife’s spirit cries out to Victoria to protect her son, Logan, who has been rumored to be his mother’s killer.  Can she trust the attraction she feels with Arik, despite the rising contention between father and son?  Or will the mystery of his wife’s death lead to the destruction of her pack?  She has to find the answers, and fast, to keep herself and her pack safe.

This book was literally a page turner for me.  This was one of those books where I would look at the clock, groan aloud at how late it was, and move on to the next chapter, until I finished it in one sitting.  Melissa’s concise writing style keeps up a good pace without slowing down, and the characters are alive and seem to leap off the page.  I also loved the inclusion of Norse mythology into the story; the world and mythos building here is just enough to be immersive without bogging down in the details.  Another aspect of the book I liked was that even in their human forms, the shifters in this world still have characteristics of their animal counterparts, such as showing submissiveness to a dominant pack leader.  I particularly enjoyed the snappy dialogue between Victoria and Logan, as well as the sparks that fly between her and Arik.  Let me tell you, parts of those interactions were definitely hot! While I missed the first book in the series, that is definitely a mistake I will have to rectify.  I’m intrigued to see where Melissa takes Victoria and her pack, and to learn more about the role she plays as a Valkyrie and the dynamic between her and her goddess Freya.  A definite must read for anyone who enjoys urban fantasy.

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
HUNGER MOON

4 Star Review from Pruf Reads on June 7, 2013:

prufreads

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

**Please note, this book was gifted by the author in exchange for an honest review**

“Some things are meant to be.”

~Arik

Hunger Moon is book 2 in the Norse Werewolves series, a series I’m quickly becoming obsessed with. I’ve recently come to realize that I’m an instant gratification kind of reader (and writer apparently but that’s a whole ‘nother blog post.*wink*) and Ms. Snark is my kind of author. I noted in the review of book 1, The Child Thief, that she doesn’t go on and on with pointless ramblings that to me, is just to pad word count. Her on point method continues with this newest installment.

Things continue to look bleak for Victoria and her pack but they may find the safety they seek but of course it won’t come easy. The problem begins with Victoria. Above all else, she wants to provide for and protect what is left of her pack. If that means seeking out an alpha male, of whom she’s never even met, to be her mate and possible challenge her for her for alpha, then she’ll do it. Maybe not with bells on, but she’ll do it.

Arik Koenig comes with his own set of baggage. For one, he’s a lawyer…strike one. His wife was murdered and her spirit comes a knockin’…strike two. Last but not least, her would be stepson Logan is not only hot, cocky and the epitome of arrogant, he’s also said to be his own mothers killer…strike three. Victoria briefly escapes the drama surrounding the hunters only to stumble into a more that in many ways, is much more complicated and deadly.

Hunger Moon kept great pace and had my emotions up, down and back again. There were shocking twists and turns that rounded out the story quite nicely. Ms. Snark keeps killing characters! My mouth dropped open more than once and even now, I’m curious as to where this goes. When you think you know, guess what, you don’t! New characters are introduced and this world takes on more shape. On a side note, this is a shifter series and I love shifter books. That being said, there was one scene that was a little to authentic for me, when it came to feeding. Literally threw up in my mouth a little bit (ironic)…and that’s all I have to say about that.

The romantic (and steam factor…HOT!!!) aspect of this series was kicked up a notch and I bounced back and forth numerous times before I picked my guy. When you find yourself asking, “Wait, is he the one I’m supposed to like best, or that one? Wait, no that’s the right one…right?!” for me, that’s a good thing. Arik is dark and and powerful, alpha male from the ground up. He’s a delicious male lead. In many ways, his son Logan couldn’t be more opposite of his dad but at the same time, for me at least, he remains the stand out character overall, not just in regards to male lead. He’s fascinating and quite the enigma and that smart ass mouth of his is just gravy. 😉

Bring on book 3!

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
THE CHILD THIEF

4 Star Review from Pruf Reads on May 28, 2013:

prufreads

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

She ran because her goddess commanded it, swearing revenge in her heart because she no longer believed in justice, whether she was sworn to it or not.

~Victoria Storm

**Please note, book was gifted by the author in exchange for an honest review**

What a pleasant surprise! Ms. Snark initially contacted me about reviewing book 2 of this series, Hunger Moon (my review is coming soon!) but she also mentioned this novella, as it introduces the heroine to the reader, and that I was welcome to it as well. I am so very glad I read this first.

The Child Thief doesn’t waste much time “setting the tone” and for me, that is HUGE when it comes to my entertainment level where a novella is concerned. I can be such a child when it comes to the books that I read. I’m anxious the second I turn my kindle on and quite frankly, I don’t enjoy the endless rambling about the purple hued sky, rolling mountain tops, the tweedy bird in the corner…you get the gist. I want a novella to come out swinging and that’s exactly what Ms. Snark did.

Victoria Storm is the newly named Alpha of her pack. She questions whether or not she is worthy and the reasoning behind her new title is heartbreaking. Not only is Victoria a were-shifter but she was gifted with spirit sight which adds to her sense of responsibilities when it comes to protecting and making things right. Unfortunately for her, her once allies are now vicious enemies because they blame her for the loss of one of their own. She has suffered great loss that in some ways has made her hard but this strong heroine has a big heart.

You shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, you really shouldn’t yet…we all know we have! I don’t like this cover at all. I don’t think it doesn’t the book justice nor does it really capture what the book is about. I do, however, like the cover for book 2 so “YAY!” for that. I love my paranormal creatures, obviously. That being said, there are times where the “creature” is just a little too much, too over the top, for me and that was the case here. Another aspect that I’m struggling with is character development. I love how she didnt’ make my head spin by introducing too many characters all at once. Aside from Victoria, there were only a handful of others mentioned. There were three standouts for me and what did the author do? She KILLED TWO OF THEM!!! So here is where I’m torn, on one hand, I’m thinking “WTF? Get me invested and snatch them right out from under me?!” but…on the other, “That’s ballsy, I dig that shit.” That in itself deserves a THUMBS UP in my book.

The Child Thief is a fantastic fast paced introduction to what is sure to be kick ass urban fantasy series! Stay tuned for my review of book 2, Hunger Moon!

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
CUFFED

4 Star Review from Long and Short Reviews on May 10, 2013:

NEW Reviewed by LASR copy

Eve Harris is caught speeding and is pulled over on an empty country road in the middle of the night. Mike Ryan is an officer with the King County Sheriff’s Department. He’s got lovely chocolate skin and is six foot six of strong, hard muscle, definitely not a bad sight for Eve to get an eye-full of. Flirting shamelessly with him in the hopes of getting out of the ticket. Eve discovers Mike is far stronger—and more dedicated—than she’d first realized. In the space of a few minutes she finds herself handcuffed and totally at Mike’s mercy. Cuffed and laid bare, Eve’s desires are revealed and Mike is more than up for the challenge.

This is a short but scorching hot story. Eve is a little sassy – which I really enjoyed – and Mike is a tall, hot hero, strong and sure in all things. I enjoyed the author’s style and voice, I connected immediately to both Eve and Mike and their sensual encounter. I did, however, find that there were a lot of horse similies that jarred me with how frequently they were peppered through such a short story – things like “a racehorse coming out of the gate”, “wild horses couldn’t…” and “a mare with a lusty stallion”. While the earlier analogy of a big jungle cat gave me a good mental picture of Mike, having so many in a quick story started to niggle me as a reader. Having said that – the sex is scorching, the fantasy a sensual one and the interactions of Mike and Eve is super hot.

Overall I really enjoyed this story and would certainly read more by Ms. Snark. I felt the heat not only from Eve and Mike’s interactions, but also had the clear sense of a steamy Georgia evening, out on a back country road and the luscious interlude that could follow from a bit of speeding. A fun, sizzling read – definitely keep some cool water handy!

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
THE CHILD THIEF

5 Star Review from Vampires, Werewolves & Fairies, Oh My! by LT on Apr 9, 2013:

revvwf

How to sum this is all up? Victoria Storm is a shape shifting wolf & Valkyrie, she also has spirit sight. This means she can see and hear dead people. Victoria is torn between saving her pack from hunters who used to be allies and saving a missing child, whose dead mother came to her for help. I loved this short story and so wanted more, it ended way too soon. When the son of the hunters died Victoria and her pack were blamed which caused the death of her parents. But it seems only Victoria has the answers to what happened because she was lovers with Daniel, the now dead son of the hunter.

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
A CAT’S TALE

Review from Bitten by Paranormal Romance by Laurie on Dec 6, 2012:

revbittenbpr

A Cat’s Tale is a fun sassy read. I liked the characters and the twist to the story. I really enjoyed Josephine’s nature, she starts out very sassy but once she finds out she bit off more than she could chew, she than turns off her sassiness and goes full force into her shell. Josephine has been imprisoned most of her life so she needs to be shown love and Jared is just the right guy to do just that. Jared is an alpha that every woman would love to have.

I recommend this to anyone who loves hot novellas.

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
A CAT’S TALE

5 Stars from Texas Straight-Talk Reviews on Jun. 26, 2012:

revtexasst

A Saucy Read–I just love that word ‘saucy’, and I so seldom get to use it, but for this book, this review, that word just fits. Josephine the cat is just saucy. She’s sexy and saucy, and I loved her in this book, A Cat’s Tale, by Melissa Snark.

HARD TO RATE A CAT’S TALE

This was a hard one to determine a star rating for, because I can’t quite give it a full five stars for overall story, plot and writing (in general). I’m used to reading suspense and thrillers, with intricate plots that just leave me amazed or feeling defeated, and erotic and romance are not my usual genres. When I compare this book to those really good thrillers, I can’t quite give it five stars. BUT… for the genre it’s in, it’s a five-star book all the way. I mean, I’ve read some really bad erotica, some really lousy and formulaic romance, and this book is neither. I do enjoy a good story, regardless of genre, and that’s what makes A Cat’s Tale a good read: it tells a good story. But then, add to that the saucy erotic and intimate nature of the relationship between our two lead characters, and you have a hot erotic love story, with an actual plot!

So I figured that alone warranted a higher star rating. I’m tired of reading erotica that skimps on story and plot to just get to the sex, and then doesn’t even do that very well. A Cat’s Tale actually tells a story with all that luscious loving. For that reason, I feel A Cat’s Tale, by Melissa Snark deserves five stars.

THE PLOT OF A CAT’S TALE

Josephine, okay, Josie, was a little cliché for the name of a shape-shifting cat, but it made me chuckle. And the pitting of ‘cats and dogs’ together is a bit cliché as well, but it’s cute. It works. In the story, Josephine is a shape-shifter, part cart/part human, and she’s on the prowl for a man… but not for herself. No, Josie is a captured–but not so beloved–’pet’ of a vampire, having to do her mistress’s bidding. Jared, unbeknownst to those who have captured him, is a strong shape-shifting part wolf/part human.

Throwing a cat and a dog in a pen together is sure to create some tension, regardless of their shifted or human form, and this is exactly what happens when Jared and Josie, both now prisoners of the vampire mistress, are held together to service her needs.

While Jared allows the vampire to feed from him, he requests to keep the ‘cat’ as a plaything or a toy, so he can have the pleasure of the kill. The vampire agrees, but Jared doesn’t have any intention of killing Josie. The two have a mutual lust and a mutual distrust of each other, but through the trials of being held together, they have to learn to overcome that natural fear and cat/dog tendency to work together for freedom.

But who knew they might actually fall for one another? Can a cat and a dog, regardless of their human forms, ever truly form a bond with one another? Will they even make it out of the vampire’s lair to give it a chance?

WRITING STYLE, EDITING, FORMATTING

You’ll have to read to find out. The story is well-written, the editing is good too, and it flows nicely. The length is perfect for telling the type of story that this is—not too long, but not so short you feel cheated. It flows easily and it has a good dose of humor, something I always appreciate in a story. It sucks when a story gets too heavy and this one stays sarcastic and humorous enough to make it enjoyable, while these two characters chart a tough situation. It’s suspenseful in places, but not really a suspense story. The vampire part of the story is really played down, so the main focus is the shape-shifting and erotic romance that develops between Josie and Jared.

SEXUAL HEAT LEVEL

The heat level is way up there, and the sex is aggressive and demanding, but it’s not overpowering or odd. The tension between the characters is believable, though there are misunderstandings that don’t have to happen if they’d just communicated better. I read one review that had a bit of an issue that there was some sexual activity while Josie was only partly shifted to human, and that this sort of creeped her out, but when I read it, I didn’t get that at all. The reason she was only partially shifted is clear, and it just fits with the story. I don’t think most people are going to have any problem with that.

All in all, I’d recommend this book if you like erotic romance. The fantasy and shape-shifting part of it is really secondary to the erotica, and adds an element of fantasy to it, but not enough I’d actually characterize this as fantasy. It’s more simply good erotic writing, with a decent storyline and fantastical characters.

I would definitely read more by this author.

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
A CAT’S TALE

5 Star Review from Fallen Angel Reviews by Pam S.:

revfallenar

All Jared wanted was food and a cold beer when he stopped at the roadside bar. But, the smell and sight of a sexy werecat erased all thoughts of eating, well eating bar food that is. When the sultry pussycat makes him an offer, he cannot turn down a pretty pussy, can he? When he wakes in a dungeon, in silver shackles, it takes everything in his power to quiet the wolf inside. He learns he has been kidnapped to feed a vampiress and the pussycat was the bait. There is a lot more to this situation and he aims to find out why she did it.

Jared plays the submissive to give him time to figure out who has abused and misused the werecat. In exchange for allowing the vampiress to feed from him, he demands that he be given the pussycat. Josephine is terrified of the wolf but soon realizes that he is her best ally. Although they both mistrust the other completely, they form a bond. Jared uses information from Josie to form a plan to get the two of them out of there. As the plan unfolds, Jared is forced to change plans, but can Josie take another betrayal? After their escape and their experience, can the pair walk away from each other and part ways?

I really enjoyed this story. Jared was very impressive in his ability to recognize that Josie was terrified and abused, not many men would pick up on that. Jared was a semi-perfect gentleman, definitely an Alpha male. Josie’s sultry temptress act was very hot and erotic. Their failed attempt at avoiding one another was the glue that kept the story going. The sex scene was not raunchy or very explicit, but was hot. This story was more about confronting past hurt, pain and trust issues than sexual exploits and to me that made for a better storyline; more of the characters personalities were revealed.

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16
A CAT’S TALE

4-1/2 Stars Review from Just Erotic Romance Reviews by L.T. Blue:

revjuster

Jared Kohl only wanted a quick break to grab a burger and drink while riding his bike from Virginia to California to take care of business.  It was the sexy scent that caused him to immediately go hard, yet he somehow managed to remain calm and relaxed as the woman walked up behind him. Her touch sends Jared erotic tingles, knowing that he will definitely be getting more during this stop than a burger and drink. Werecat Josephine has no other choice, she has to bring in fresh weres to Evangeline, the vampire holding her captive.  While Josephine knows that she is enough to give any man a wet dream in her schoolgirl outfit (sans panties), she will have to use all of her tools to entice Jared to return with her.  Jared knows it is a trap, but the overwhelming sadness that he picks up from the sexy little werecat has him trying to figure out how to help her.

With a starting phrase ‘somewhere between Virginia and California,’ you know you are in for a treat with A Cat’s Tale. Jared is so much fun, a true Alpha male who knows when to keep his Alpha tendencies down and hidden. I love how Jared plays the vampire Evangeline, yet stays honest with Josephine. The sexual chemistry between Josephine and Jared is obvious from the first meeting, but distrust keeps the chemistry at a simmer. The dialogue between the werewolf and werecat will keep you entertained hours after finishing the story. Even though Josephine is in a bad situation, she is determined to do whatever it takes to stay alive and fight another day. Once Jared and Josephine finally have sex,  it is hot and raunchy, with the needed animalistic mating that you expect from an Alpha. There are plenty of secondary characters in the story that move the plot along though never taking away from the main characters. While there wasn’t as much sex in the story as I would have liked, I did have a great time reading A Cat’s Tale and can’t wait to read more from Ms. Snark.

Read the original review here.

 GoldTextDividers-16
A CAT’S TALE

4 Hearts Review from Sizzling Hot Book Reviews on Feb 16, 2012:

revsizhb

When your life is on the line, what are you willing to do to save your life? Are you willing to sell someone else out?

Alpha werewolf, Jared Kohl, wakes up in a vampire’s dungeon, swearing revenge upon the wily Siamese werecat who lured him there with her sultry lips and the sweetest tail. To escape his undead captor, all he has to do is seduce the skittish puss and show her that trust is often a hot and hard lesson to learn.

Enslaved feline shifter, Josephine Young, has learned the hard way not to believe in anything or anyone—not men, not love, and certainly not the blood-sucking mistress who tossed her into the cage with the hungry beast she’d betrayed. But Josephine does what she must to survive, including tempting the dominant werewolf to give her more than promises.

Imprisoned for their blood, Jared and Josephine fight for survival and discover a passion that neither can walk away from. Can these two predators survive long enough to prove that cats and dogs can be more than enemies?

Josephine is a Siamese cat shifter who has been under lock and key by a vampire. She’s been abused and doesn’t trust anyone. So when she is threatened by the vampire, she captures a werewolf to take her place as a blood donor for the vampire.

Jared Kohl was traveling across the country when he meets a sexy little kitten, Josephine in a diner. Intrigued by her, he follows her to a home where the trap is sprung. While they think that Jared is a lowly Omega, he is in fact the Alpha wolf of the Roanoke Pack.

A Cat’s Tale was an exciting tale of lust and trust as Josephine must learn to accept that Jared isn’t like other men. He is willing to do anything to protect and keep Josephine safe, including submit to the vampire. Jared is a hot sexy werewolf with more power than anyone expects. His sexual energy would drive a vampire wild but he only has eyes for his kitten.

The idea of someone risking their life to protect me is what makes a hero. Jared from A Cat’s Tale is a hero. He is even willing to risk the rest of his life when he mates with Josephine and demonstrates an outstanding demonstration of his love. Because he is mated to a cat, if she should leave him, he will never have another lover or mate. Giving up his chance for happiness and putting it into her hands shows just how much he is willing to give up for love.

Read the original review here.

GoldTextDividers-16

Copyright © 2012-2016 Melissa Snark. All rights reserved.